Small Projects and Instant (Almost) Gratification

I’ve been busy with a lot of small projects lately, and I find the “instant gratification” aspect small projects, quite pleasing!

One of the things I wanted to do this year, was to participate in some online swaps. I knew that online swaps were a big part of the popularity of the Modern Quilt Guild. These online hosted swaps allow people from all over the world to participate! It’s like having a very large friendship group! So far, I’ve been in three swaps: Pillow Talk Swap, Pretty Little Pouch Swap, and the Denyse Schmidt Doll Quilt Swap. Here’s what I created for each swap:

The Pillow Talk Swap

ImageImage

Pretty Little Pouch Swap

Image

Denyse Schmidt Doll Swap

I’ve enjoyed these small challenges and will do more of them as I have time. If you want to know more about how to get involved in an online swap, Megan wrote a great article about swapping on her blog, Fashioned by Meg.

Last weekend, I decided to play with a pattern I picked up at Strawberry Patches. It’s a very whimsical pattern by Tula Pink, and I thought I knew what fabrics I wanted to use with it. That was, until I went into Strawberry Patches and started looking at fabrics with a different perspective. I decided to use the new French influenced fabrics in the Penelope line. I was going to use a light-colored solid for the background, but decided to go a more dramatic route and used a charcoal colored Bella Solid that I found at Bolts to Binding. One crown down, 14 to go!

   

2 responses

  1. Love Tula Pink patterns and the paper pieced crown is adorable!!! Love all your projects and swaps- you’re so talented! More modern fun!
    Pam

  2. Love the fussy cut Eiffel Tower! I think the charcoal background was definitely the right choice. Can’t wait to see this quilt!

Leave a Reply

