Something Just For Me

Last January, at The Road to California quilt show, I purchased a pattern from Honey Run Quilters. It’s called Simple Addition, by Simply Cotton. I liked that I could use my Kaffe Fassett quilt stash and not have to cut the fabrics into small pieces. I added a few pieces from a line by Anna Maria Horner, which fit in perfectly! I love to add a bit of the unexpected to my quilts, so I chose the black and white print for my inner border. Since I’d just taught a class on using Susan Cleveland’s Piping Hot Binding technique, I wanted to add it to my binding. I could have used a variety of patterns for the quilting, but decided on something traditional, baptist fans. I love the mix of the linear, modern quilt blocks with the curves of the age-old traditional quilting pattern!  The batting is Hobbs Heirloom wool, and the thread is Superior’s Rainbows. I have a problem with doing binding, because of the RA in my hands, so my sweet friend, Nicci, hand stitched the binding for me. I am absolutely thrilled with this quilt!

ImageImageImageImageImage

A special thanks to my trusty photography assistant, da Chunk!

7 responses

Leave a Reply

