Small Projects

One of the things that I’ve come to appreciate through modern quilting, is the appreciation for small projects. I used to be of the mindset that if you were going to put your time into making something, it needed to be substantial. A quilt had to be big enough for a good snuggle. When we had our first meeting of the Bakersfield Modern Quilt Guild, some of the ladies brought mug rugs for show ‘n tell. Seriously? What was the point? They were cute, but who would really put their cuppa joe and cookies on one? My narrow-minded opinion changed when our guild did a mug rug swap. I actually found myself enjoying the process of creating a small piece of art!  To see how much thought and work went into each piece, really began to change the way I looked at things. For the record, I do use my mug rugs for coffee, tea, and treats!

At our next meeting, we learned English paper piecing to make hexagons, aka hexies. I chose to use orange and yellow fabrics, because I hated orange! Honestly, truly, right down to my core, I seriously disliked the color. So, what I set myself up for was a challenge to make a small piece, primarily hand-made, using my two least favorite colors.  This is the result of that personal challenge:

Would you look at all that orange! Sheesh! Now I use some shade of orange in almost every project I do! It seems to make a piece come alive! Whoda thunk it?

My next smallish quilt to make was a baby quilt for a friend of my husband. You see, the same three guys have been carpooling for years, so they are pretty good friends. Randy’s daughter recently gave birth to a baby boy, Randy’s first grandchild. I had a fat quarter bundle of Moda’s Pezzy prints, and I wanted to use them for something. My buddy, Nicci, suggested I take a look at a tutorial on the Cluck Cluck Sew blog. It was a perfect way to use these prints!

   

The background fabric and ticket print are by American Jane for Moda, and the blue is a Moda Bella solid. I used the Bella solids on the back, as well. The tutorial for the pattern can be found here.

Last night, I finished a mini quilt for a Denyse Schmidt Doll Quilt Swap on Flickr. The rules of the swap were to use only DS prints and quality solids. My friend, Pam, told me about a tutorial for a braided star block on the blog of The ADD Crafter. It was a fun block to make, and it was the perfect size for the Doll Quilt Swap!

       

My next finish will be on a quilt using my seriously large Kaffe Fassett stash. I’m in the process of applying the piping and binding. It’s the first time I’ve used Susan Cleveland’s Piping Hot Binding technique, and I am really liking the look of it!

Until next time, enjoy some creative time for yourself!

4 responses

Leave a Reply

